Multiple Diversity – Existential Challenges for Boards and Top Management Teams

In the current debate, the increasing heterogeneity of top bodies (top management teams, supervisory boards, boards of directors) is seen as desirable for very different reasons. – Georg Martensen’s article refers to a profound and just recently voiced critique by Ely & Thomas, who heralded the paradigm shift for diversity 25 years ago. – This gives rise to questions, to which he would like to offer some answers: »In what way can multiple changes at top management level be understood existentially in terms of their effects on organisations? What framework of understanding does existential thinking offer for this, which is at the same time a guideline for action? What contribution must or can the top management team, the board, make here? And what does this require in terms of an understanding of the commonality of being human within organisations and, if necessary, the development of an inner attitude? – And in what way can this path be followed?« Read »

Don Quixote and Sancho Panza: How Miguel de Cervantes shows us essentials in being human and in virtues of leadership

What moves us to resort to the signet of Don Quixote and Sancho Panza in our blog? What causes our fascination for this strange couple that has captivated people since the publication of »The Ingenious Gentleman Don Quixote of La Mancha« until today? And what does Quixote have to do with leadership? René Märtin and Georg Martensen provide the answers in an editorial article. Read »

Remote Control – Remarks on Organisation and Leadership in the Covid 19 Crisis

Many organisations are stuck – without reflecting on it – in a spatially defined organisational model of Taylorist shop‐​floor management. Leadership at a distance is therefore experienced as an imposition by those involved. The Covid 19 pandemic is currently forcing a completely different practice and thus also a rethinking of leadership and cooperation. Some feel nostalgic for paternalistic leadership. But command and control is suddenly being replaced by connectedness. And this is not bound to spatial proximity, but rather to trust in a common future. Read »

Findings on organisation, leadership, and counselling in change

In his »Findings«, Georg Martensen discusses fundamental developments on current leadership realities and takes a close look at the change taking place from four perspectives, describing the mechanics, the dynamics, the ideology, and the tragedy of change – not without offering an outlook on the topic that is both existential and hopeful. Read »

Existential Leadership

Under the keyword »Existential Leadership« we draw in our work on essential foundations of existential thinking, above all on Daseinsanalysis and Existential Analysis. The practical application has already proven itself for more than half a century in psychotherapy, counselling, education, pastoral care, social work, coaching, management, and in other fields of work. The dimensions and subjects Read »

Existential Dimensions

Ludwig Binswanger (18811966) describes three dimensions to which human existence relates to: Umwelt, Mitwelt and Eigenwelt. Emmy van Deurzen (* 1951) adds the fourth dimension, the Überwelt, because this is where the transcendent side of existence is revealed. With the existential dimensions, we have an important model to better understand people in their existence. I. Read »

Multiple Diversität – Existenzielle Herausforderungen für Boards und Top‐Management‐Teams

In der aktuellen Debatte wird die Heterogenität von Spitzengremien (Top‐​Management‐​Teams, Aufsichtsräten, Supervisory Boards, Boards of Directors) aus ganz unterschiedlichen Gründen als erstrebenswert angesehen. – Der Artikel nimmt aus existenzieller Perspektive Bezug auf eine aktuelle profunde Kritik von Ely & Thomas, die vor bereits 25 Jahren den Paradigmenwechsel für ›Diversity‹ eingeläutet haben. – Hieraus ergeben sich Fragestellungen, zu denen dieser Beitrag von Georg Martensen Antworten anbieten möchte: »Auf welche Weise lassen sich multiple Veränderungen auf Top‐​Management‐​Ebene in ihren Auswirkungen auf Organisationen existentiell verstehen? Welchen Verständnisrahmen bietet existenzielles Denken dafür an, der zugleich handlungsleitend ist. Welchen Beitrag muss bzw. kann das Top‐​Management‐​Team, das Board hierin übernehmen? Und was braucht es dazu an Verständigung über die Gemeinsamkeit des Menschseins innerhalb von Organisationen und gegebenenfalls der Entwicklung einer inneren Haltung? – Und auf welche Weise ist dieser Weg zu gehen?« Lesen »

Remote Control – Bemerkungen zu Organisation und Führung in der Covid‐19‐Krise

Viele Organisationen hängen – ohne das zu reflektieren – in einem räumlich definierten Organisationsmodell des tayloristischen Shopfloor‐​Managments fest. Führung auf Distanz wird daher von den Beteiligten als Zumutung erlebt. Bei manchen keimt gar nostalgische Hinwendung zu paternalistischer Führung auf. Die Covid‐​19‐​Pandemie erzwingt aktuell eine vollkommen andere Praxis und so auch ein Umdenken von Führung und Zusammenarbeit. An die Stelle von ›Command and Control‹ tritt plötzlich Verbundenheit. Und die ist wesentlich nicht an räumliche Nähe gebunden, sondern vielmehr an Vertrauen in eine gemeinsame Zukunft. Lesen »

Befunde zu Organisation, Führung und ihrer Beratung im Wandel

Georg Martensen erörtert in seinen »Befunden« grundlegende Entwicklungen zu aktuellen Führungsrealitäten und nimmt den stattfindenden Wandel aus vier Perspektiven unter die Lupe, indem er die Mechanik, die Dynamik, die Ideologie und die Tragik des Wandels beschreibt – nicht ohne einen existenziellen wie Hoffnung machenden Ausblick auf das Thema zu bieten. Lesen »

Don Quijote und Sancho Pansa: Miguel de Cervantes zeigt uns Wesentliches über’s Menschsein und Leadership‐Tugenden

Was bewegt uns, in unserem Blog auf die Signatur von Don Quijote und Sancho Pansa zurückzugreifen? Was macht die Faszination dieses seltsamen Gespanns aus, das seit dem Erscheinen von Der sinnreiche Junker Don Quijote von der Mancha bis heute die Menschen in ihren Bann zieht? Und was hat Quijote mit dem Thema Führung zu tun? René Märtin und Georg Martensen geben in einem redaktionellen Beitrag darauf Antwort. Lesen »

Existenzielle Führung

Unter dem Stichwort »Existenzielle Führung« greifen wir in unserer Arbeit auf wesentliche Grundlagen existenziellen Denkens zurück, vor allem auf die Daseinsanalyse und die Existenzanalyse. Die praktische Anwendung hat sich seit über einem halben Jahrhundert bereits in Psychotherapie, Beratung, Pädagogik, Seelsorge, Sozialer Arbeit, Coaching und Management und in anderen Arbeitsfeldern bewährt. Die hier beschriebenen Dimensionen und Lesen »

Existenzielle Dimensionen

Ludwig Binswanger (18811966) beschreibt drei Dimensionen, auf die sich menschliches Dasein bezieht: Umwelt, Mitwelt und Eigenwelt. Emmy van Deurzen (* 1951) ergänzt diese um die vierte Dimension Überwelt, weil hier sich die transzendente Seite des Daseins zeigt. So haben wir mit den Existenziellen Dimensionen ein wichtiges Modell, um den Menschen in seinem Dasein besser verstehen Lesen »